



Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee OPEN MINUTES

Date: Thursday 22 February 2024

Time: 6.01pm

Venue: Te Hapua Halswell Library, Piharau Room, 341

Halswell Road, Halswell

Present

Chairperson Annabelle Hasselman - Community Representative

Deputy Chairperson Mike Patchett - Community Representative
Members Brynlea Stocks - Community Representative

Cailin Richardson-Hall - Community Representative

Vacancy - Te Taumutu Rūnanga

Councillor Greg Brynes - Councillor Environment Canterbury Councillor Phil Dean - Councillor Selwyn District Council

Amber Moke - Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke/Rapaki

Oscar Bloom - Youth Representative

Principal Advisor

Diane Shelander Senior Policy Analyst

Tel: 941 8304

Christchurch City Council

Zone Facilitator

Murray Griffin Tel: 027 705 4798

Environment Canterbury

Committee Advisor

Luke Smeele Tel: 941 6374

Christchurch City Council

www.ccc.govt.nz





Karakia Tīmatanga: All Committee members

The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1. Apologies Ngā Whakapāha

Committee Resolved CWZC/2024/00001

That the apologies received from Helen Rutter and Clare Piper for absence be accepted.

Annabelle Hasselman/Cailin Richardson-Hall

Carried

2. Declarations of Interest Ngā Whakapuaki Aronga

Mike Patchett declared an interest in Item 8.

3. Deputations by Appointment Ngā Huinga Whakaritenga

There were no deputations by appointment.

4. Presentations by the Community Ngā Whakaaturanga a te Hapori

There were no presentations by appointment.

5. Confirmation of Previous Minutes Te Whakaāe o te hui o mua **Committee Resolved CWZC/2024/00002**

That the minutes of the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee meeting held on Thursday, 23 November 2023 be confirmed.

Mike Patchett/Oscar Bloom

Carried

6. Identification of Urgent Items by Committee Members Te Tautohu i ngā Take Nonoi nā ngā Mema Komiti

No urgent items were identified.

7. Draft Avon Ōtākaro SMP feedback - Update

Committee Resolved CWZC/2024/00003

Officer Recommendation Accepted without Change

That the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee:

Receive the information in the Draft Avon Ōtākaro SMP feedback – Update Report

Annabelle Hasselman/Cailin Richardson-Hall

Carried

Attachments

Draft Avon Ōtākaro SMP feedback – update - presentation 😅 溢



Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee 22 February 2024





B draft Otakaro - Avon Stormwater Management Plan SMP 2023 😅 🖺

Councillor Dean arrived at 6.06pm during discussion of Item 7.

8. Wetland Restoration Proposal for the Ōtukaikino Catchment Committee Resolved CWZC/2024/00004

Officer Recommendation Accepted without Change

That the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee:

- 1. Receive the project proposal from the Water & Wildlife Habitat Trust (**WWHT**) and Wallbridge Gilbert Aztec (**WGA**) on preservation and climate change resilience of groundwater dependent wetlands, streams, and lakes of the Ōtukaikino.
- 2. Support, in principle, the proposed project and provide a letter to this effect.

Phil Dean/Oscar Bloom <u>Carried</u>

Attachments

A WWHT WGA Ōtukaikino ZCFeb24 V2 presentation ⇒ 🖺

9. Committee Updates

Committee Resolved CWZC/2024/00005

Officer Recommendation Accepted without Change

That the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee:

1. Receive the information in the Committee Update Report.

Brynlea Stocks/Oscar Bloom

Carried

10. 2024 Committee Appointments and Meeting Dates

Committee Comment

- 1. The Committee determined to use voting System B, as described in the 2024 Committee Appointments and Meetings Dates report, to elect a Chair and Deputy Chair for the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee for 2024.
- 2. The Chair was nominated by Annabelle Hasselman and seconded by Councillor Dean.
- 3. The Deputy Chair was nominated by Brynlea Stocks and seconded by Calin Richardson-Hall.
- 4. There were no other nominations for Chair or Deputy Chair, and both were appointed unopposed.

Officer Recommendations

That the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee:

Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee 22 February 2024





- 1. Determine that the Chair and Deputy Chair be appointed by using [System A or System B] voting as set out later in this report.
- 2. Elect [insert name] as the Chair and [insert name] as the Deputy Chair of the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee for 2024 in accordance with the Terms of Reference (Attachment A to this report).
- 3. Extend Oscar Bloom's appointment as the youth representative for the of the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee to the 30 July 2024 in accordance with the Terms of Reference (Attachment A to this report).
- 3. Meet in 2024 between 6-8.30pm on the following Thursdays:
 - a. 21 March (workshop)
 - b. April (nothing scheduled)
 - c. 30 May (meeting)
 - d. 27 June (workshop)
 - e. 25 July (meeting)
 - f. 29 August (workshop)
 - g. 26 September (meeting)
 - h. 31 October (workshop)
 - i. 28 November (meeting)

Committee Resolved CWZC/2024/00006

That the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee:

- 1. Determine that the Chair and Deputy Chair be appointed by using System B voting as set out later in this report.
- 2. Elect Oscar Bloom as the Chair and Amber Moke as the Deputy Chair of the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee for 2024 in accordance with the Terms of Reference (Attachment A to this report).
- 3. Extend Oscar Bloom's appointment as the youth representative for the of the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee to the 30 July 2024 in accordance with the Terms of Reference (Attachment A to this report).
- 3. Meet in 2024 between 6-8.30pm on the following Thursdays:
 - a. 21 March (workshop)
 - b. April (nothing scheduled)
 - c. 30 May (meeting)
 - d. 27 June (workshop)
 - e. 25 July (meeting)
 - f. 29 August (workshop)
 - g. 26 September (meeting)
 - h. 31 October (workshop)

Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee 22 February 2024





i. 28 November (meeting)

Brynlea Stocks/Cailin Richardson-Hall

Carried

11. Poroporoaki Farwell

Committee Resolved CWZC/2024/00007

Officer Recommendation Accepted without Change

That the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee:

1. Acknowledge the contributions of Annabelle Hasselman and Clare Piper as community representatives on the committee.

Brynlea Stocks/Cailin Richardson-Hall

Carried

Karakia Whakamutunga: All Committee members

Meeting concluded at 8.37pm.

CONFIRMED THIS 30th DAY OF MAY 2024

ANNABELLE HASSELMAN CHAIRPERSON