

## Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee OPEN MINUTES

Date: Time: Venue:	Wednesday 23 September 2020 2.03pm Council Chambers, Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch
Present	
Chairperson	Councillor Pauline Cotter
Deputy Chairperson	Councillor James Daniels
Members	Mayor Lianne Dalziel
	Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner
	Councillor Jimmy Chen
	Councillor Catherine Chu
	Councillor Melanie Coker
	Councillor Mike Davidson
	Councillor Anne Galloway
	Councillor James Gough
	Councillor Yani Johanson
	Councillor Aaron Keown
	Councillor Sam MacDonald
	Councillor Phil Mauger
	Councillor Jake McLellan
	Councillor Tim Scandrett
	Councillor Sara Templeton

#### 23 September 2020

**Principal Advisor** 

David Adamson General Manager City Services Tel: 941 8235

Nathaniel Heslop Committee and Hearings Advisor 941 6444 Nathaniel.heslop@ccc.govt.nz www.ccc.govt.nz



- Part A Matters Requiring a Council Decision
- Part B Reports for Information
- Part C Decisions Under Delegation

## Karakia Timatanga: Councillor Daniels

The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

## 1. Apologies / Ngā Whakapāha

## Part C Committee Resolved TWIA/2020/00018

That the apologies received from Councillors Gough and McLellan for early departure be accepted.

Councillor Mauger/Councillor Scandrett

<u>Carried</u>

## 2. Declarations of Interest / Ngā Whakapuaki Aronga

### Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.

## 3. Confirmation of Previous Minutes / Te Whakaāe o te hui o mua

### Part C

## Committee Resolved TWIA/2020/00019

That the minutes of the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee meeting held on Wednesday, 26 August 2020 be confirmed.

Councillor Scandrett/Councillor Coker

**Carried** 

## 4. Public Forum / Te Huinga Whānui

### Part B

There were no public forum presentations.

## 5. Deputations by Appointment / Ngā Huinga Whakaritenga

### Part B

Averil Stevenson, Commercial and Compliance Manager, ECO Central presented to the Committee in relation to item 10.

## 6. Presentation of Petitions / Ngā Pākikitanga

### Part B

There was no presentation of petitions.

## 7. Selwyn Waihora Zone Committee Minutes

### Committee Resolved TWIA/2020/00020

That the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee notes the Minutes from the Selwyn Waihora Zone Committee meetings held 3 March, 7 July and 4 August 2020.

Chairperson Cotter/Councillor MacDonald

# 8. Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee Minutes - 18 August 2020

### Committee Resolved TWIA/2020/00021

That the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee receives the Minutes from the meeting Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee meeting held 18 August 2020.

Chairperson Cotter/Councillor MacDonald

## 9. Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee Minutes -27 August 2020

### **Committee Resolved TWIA/2020/00022**

That the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee receives the Minutes from the Christchurch West Melton Water Management Zone Committee meeting held 27 August 2020.

Chairperson Cotter/Councillor MacDonald

## 10. Three Waters and Waste Infrastructure and Environment Committee -Resource Recovery - July / August

### Committee Resolved TWIA/2020/00023 Officer Recommendation Approved Without Amendment

### Part C

That the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee:

1. Receive the information in the Three Waters and Waste Infrastructure and Environment Committee – Resource Recovery – July / August report.

Councillor Scandrett/Councillor McLellan

Councillor Gough left the meeting at 2.45pm during discussion on item 10.

## 11. Ōtākaro Avon River Corridor Waitaki Street Stopbank Relocation Advancement

### Officer Recommendations / Ngā Tūtohu

That the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee:



<u>Carried</u>

Carried

Carried

**Carried** 



- Approves re-phasing of project budget within the LDRP 521 Avon Floodplain Management Implementation Project (CPMS ID 41639) to deliver the works, unless alternative funding applications are successful prior to 30 November 2020, as set out below:
  - a. FY20/21: \$2.8 million
  - b. FY21/22: \$6.8 million
  - c. FY22/23: \$1.4 million
  - d. FY23/24: \$1 million + any residual budget remaining in that year.

Note: 'the works' are a stormwater facility, stopbank, tidal wetland and associated infrastructure works within the Bexley Road / Waitaki Street Area. The works will be funded from both LDRP 521 (as part of the operative LTP) and the Capital Regeneration Acceleration Fund.

- 2. Approve staff to manage the project progress and finances within existing staff delegations.
- 3. Approve the expenditure of any budget remaining after completion of this phase of the project on other project phases.

### Committee Resolved TWIA/2020/00024

### Part C

That the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee:

- 1. Approves re-phasing of project budget within the LDRP 521 Avon Floodplain Management Implementation Project (CPMS ID 41639) to deliver the works, unless alternative funding applications are successful prior to 30 November 2020, as set out below:
  - a. FY20/21: \$2.8 million
  - b. FY21/22: \$6.8 million
  - c. FY22/23: \$1.4 million
  - d. FY23/24: \$1 million + any residual budget remaining in that year.

Note: 'the works' are a stormwater facility, stopbank, tidal wetland and associated infrastructure works within the Bexley Road / Waitaki Street Area. The works will be funded from both LDRP 521 (as part of the operative LTP) and the Capital Regeneration Acceleration Fund.

2. Approve staff to manage the project progress within existing staff delegations. Notwithstanding staff delegations, the Committee to approve any expenditure over \$12 million.

### Councillor Daniels/Councillor Templeton

Councillor Scandrett asked that his vote against the above resolution be noted and Councillors Davidson and Johanson abstained from voting on the above resolution.

### **Committee Recommendation**

That the Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee:

Carried



3. Approve the expenditure of any budget remaining after completion of this phase of the project on other project phases.

Chairperson Cotter/Councillor Coker

<u>Lost</u>

Councillors Coker, Cotter and Galloway requested that their vote for the above recommendation be noted.

Councillor McLellan left the meeting at 2.58pm during discussion on item 11 and returned at 3.55pm prior to the Karakia.

Councillor MacDonald left the meeting at 3.24pm and returned at 3.25pm during discussion on item 11.

## Karakia Whakamutunga: Councillor Cotter

Meeting concluded at 3.56pm.

### CONFIRMED THIS 21<sup>st</sup> DAY OF OCTOBER 2020

### PAULINE COTTER CHAIRPERSON