



Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee OPEN MINUTES

Date: Tuesday 18 March 2025

Time: 5:07 pm

Venue: Via audio/visual link

Present

Chairperson Gina Waibl - Community Representative
Deputy Chairperson Trudi Bishop - Community Representative
Members Andrea Davis - Community Representative

Ben Manson - Community Representative

Tyrone Fields - Councillor Christchurch City Council Paul Dietsche - Councillor Environment Canterbury Amber Moke - Te Hapū o Ngāti Wheke/Rapaki

Rik Tainui - Te Rūnanga o Ōnuku

Jaleesa Panirau - Te Rūnanga o Wairewa

Tori Peden - Advisory Member

Principal Advisor (CCC)

Georgina St John-Ives Tel: 941 6228

georgina.stjohnives@ccc.govt.nz

Zone Facilitator (ECan)

Jaimee Grant Tel: 027 220 2694

jaimee.grant@ecan.govt.nz

Democratic Services Advisor

(CCC)

Natasha McDonnell Tel: 941 5112

natasha.mcdonnell@ccc.govt.nz

Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee 18 March 2025





Trudi Bishop opened the meeting and assumed the Chair.

Karakia Tīmatanga

The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1. Apologies Ngā Whakapāha

Committee Resolved BPZC/2025/00001

That the apologies from Gina Waibl for lateness be accepted.

Paul Dietsche/Tyrone Fields

Carried

2. Declarations of Interest Ngā Whakapuaki Aronga

There were no declarations of interest recorded.

3. Updates from Banks Peninsula Zone Committee Members

No updates were raised by members.

4. Confirmation of Previous Minutes Te Whakaāe o te hui o mua Committee Resolved BPZC/2025/00002

That the minutes of the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee meeting held on Tuesday, 26 November 2024 be confirmed.

Please note that the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee meeting on Tuesday, 18 February 2025 lapsed due to lack of quorum.

Tyrone Fields/Jaleesa Panirau

Carried

5. Deputations by Appointment Ngā Huinga Whakaritenga

There were no deputations by appointment.

6. Identification of Urgent Items by Committee Members Te Tautohu i ngā Take Nonoi nā ngā Mema Komiti

No urgent items were identified by members.





7. 2025 Election of Chair and Deputy Chair, and Committee Meeting Dates Committee Comment:

- Trudi Bishop vacated the Chair and Jaimee Grant, Zone Facilitator, Environment Canterbury assumed the Chair for item 7.
- Gina Waibl was nominated as Chair by Trudi Bishop and seconded by Rik Tainui. Trudi
 Bishop was nominated as deputy Chair by Tyrone Fields and seconded by Jaleesa Panirau.
 These nominations were carried unanimously.

Officer Recommendations

That the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee:

- 1. Receives the information in the 2025 Election of Chair and Deputy Chair, and Committee Meeting Dates Report.
- 2. Elect Member [] as Chair of the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee.
- 3. Elect Member [] as the Deputy Chair of the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee.
- 4. Hold Meetings and Workshops of the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee by the following schedule:
 - a. Tuesday 29 April 2025, 4 6:45pm, Workshop.
 - b. Tuesday 20 May 2025, 4 6:45pm, Meeting.

Committee Resolved BPZC/2025/00003

That the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee:

- Receives the information in the 2025 Election of Chair and Deputy Chair, and Committee Meeting Dates Report.
- 2. Elect Member Gina Waibl as Chair of the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee.
- 3. Elect Member Trudi Bishop as the Deputy Chair of the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee.
- 4. Hold Meetings and Workshops of the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee by the following schedule:
 - a. Tuesday 29 April 2025, 4 6:45pm, Workshop.
 - Tuesday 20 May 2025, 4 6:45pm, Meeting.

Trudi Bishop/Tyrone Fields

Carried

Trudi Bishop vacated the Chair and left the meeting at 5:22 pm during consideration of item 8. Gina Waibl joined the meeting at 5:22 pm and assumed the Chair during consideration of item 8. Ben Manson left the meeting at 5:23 pm during consideration of item 8.





8. Recommendations for allocation of CWMS Action Plan Budget in Banks Peninsula Zone

Committee Resolved BPZC/2025/00004

Officer Recommendations Accepted Without Change

That the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee:

- 1. Receives the information in the Recommendations for allocation of CWMS Action Plan Budget in Banks Peninsula Zone Report.
- 2. Recommends that Environment Canterbury approves the expenditure for the following projects to the following entities:
 - a. \$3,000 to Little River Wairewa Community Trust's Okana River Project
 - b. \$1,000 to EOS Ecology's Nature Agents project
 - c. \$500 to Conservation Volunteers New Zealand's Whaka-ora Pest Project

Gina Waibl/Jaleesa Panirau

Carried

9. Committee Updates

Committee Resolved BPZC/2025/00005

Officer Recommendations Accepted Without Change

That the Banks Peninsula Water Management Zone Committee:

1. Receives the information in the Committee Updates Report.

Gina Waibl/Rik Tainui <u>Carried</u>

Karakia Whakamutunga

Meeting concluded at 5:58pm.

CONFIRMED THIS 20th DAY OF MAY 2025

GINA WAIBL
CHAIRPERSON