

# Christchurch City Council INAUGURAL MEETING MINUTES

Date: Time: Venue:	Tuesday 25 October 2022 4.03pm Council Chambers, Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch	
Present		
Chairperson	Mayor Phil Mauger	
Members	Councillor Kelly Barber	
	Councillor Melanie Coker	
	Councillor Pauline Cotter	
	Councillor Celeste Donovan	
	Councillor Tyrone Fields	
	Councillor James Gough	
	Councillor Tyla Harrison-Hunt	
	Councillor Victoria Henstock	
	Councillor Yani Johanson	
	Councillor Aaron Keown	
	Councillor Sam MacDonald	
	Councillor Jake McLellan	
	Councillor Andrei Moore	
	Councillor Mark Peters	
	Councillor Tim Scandrett	
	Councillor Sara Templeton	

Principal Advisor Dawn Baxendale Chief Executive Tel: 941 8999

Megan Pearce Manager Hearings & Council Support 941 8140 megan.pearce@ccc.govt.nz <u>www.ccc.govt.nz</u>

To watch a recording of this meeting, or future meetings live, go to: <u>http://councillive.ccc.govt.nz/live-stream</u> To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit: <u>www.ccc.govt.nz/the-council/meetings-agendas-and-minutes/</u> The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

**Mihi Whakatau:** The meeting commenced with a Mihi Whakatau from Ngāi Tūāhuriri representatives.

### 1. Welcome and Introduction

The Chief Executive assumed the Chair and declared the inaugural meeting open.

## 2. Declaration by the Mayor Te Kī Taurangi a te Koromatua

The Mayor made the statutory declaration required of him under the provisions of the Local Government Act 2002.

The Mayor's declaration was signed in the presence of the Council and witnessed by the Chief Executive.

The Mayor assumed the Chair and addressed the meeting.

## 3. Declarations by Councillors Te Kī Taurangi a te Kāhui Amorangi

The Mayor called each Councillor in turn to declare that they will faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of their skill and judgement, execute and perform in the best interests of the City of Christchurch, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon them as a member of the Christchurch City Council by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.

The Councillors' declarations were signed in the presence of the Council and witnessed by the Mayor and Chief Executive.

Each Councillor addressed the meeting.

## 4. Explanation of Statutory Requirements

#### Council Resolved CNCL/2022/00157

#### Staff Recommendations accepted without change

That the Council:

1. Receive the information in the Report

Councillor Peters/Councillor Johanson

**Carried** 

## 5. Appointment of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor, under section 41A(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 2002, exercised his power to appoint Councillor Pauline Cotter as the Deputy Mayor.

## 6. Appointment of Councillors to Community Boards Council Resolved CNCL/2022/00158

#### Staff Recommendations accepted without change

That the Council appoint the following Councillors to the Community Boards situated in the Council's district:

- 1. Tyrone Fields to the Te Pātaka o Rākaihautū Banks Peninsula Community Board
- 2. Celeste Donovan to the Waitai Coastal-Burwood-Linwood Community Board
- 3. Kelly Barber to the Waitai Coastal-Burwood-Linwood Community Board
- 4. Yani Johanson to the Waitai Coastal-Burwood-Linwood Community Board
- 5. James Gough to the Waimāero Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood Community Board
- 6. Sam MacDonald to the Waimāero Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood Community Board
- 7. Aaron Keown to the Waimāero Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood Community Board
- 8. Mark Peters to the Waipuna Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton Community Board
- 9. Andrei Moore to the Waipuna Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton Community Board
- 10. Tyla Harrison-Hunt to the Waipuna Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton Community Board
- 11. Victoria Henstock to the Waipapa Papanui-Innes-Central Community Board
- 12. Jake McLellan to the Waipapa Papanui-Innes-Central Community Board
- 13. Pauline Cotter to the Waipapa Papanui-Innes-Central Community Board
- 14. Timothy Scandrett to the Waihoro Spreydon-Cashmere-Heathcote Community Board
- 15. Sara Templeton to the Waihoro Spreydon-Cashmere-Heathcote Community Board
- 16. Melanie Coker to the Waihoro Spreydon-Cashmere-Heathcote Community Board

Councillor MacDonald/Councillor Templeton

**Carried** 



## 7. Date of First Ordinary Meeting of the Council Council Resolved CNCL/2022/00159

#### Staff Recommendations accepted without change

That the Council:

- 1. Pursuant to clause 21(5)(d) of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002 resolve that the first ordinary meeting of the Council be held on Wednesday 2 November at 9.30am and subsequent Council meetings for the rest of the 2022 calendar year be confirmed as follows:
  - a. 9.30am Wednesday 23 November 2022
  - b. 9.30am Wednesday 7 December 2022
  - c. 9.30am Wednesday 14 December 2022.

Councillor Scandrett/Councillor McLellan

**Carried** 

#### Meeting concluded at 5.42pm.

#### CONFIRMED THIS 23RD DAY OF NOVEMBER 2022

MAYOR PHIL MAUGER CHAIRPERSON