

Christchurch City Council EXTRAORDINARY MINUTES

Date: Tuesday 24 March 2020

Time: 5.03pm

Venue: Council Chambers, Civic Offices,

53 Hereford Street, Christchurch

Present

Chairperson Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Deputy Chairperson Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner

Members Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor Catherine Chu (via audio conference) Councillor Melanie Coker (via audio conference)

Councillor Pauline Cotter Councillor James Daniels Councillor Mike Davidson Councillor Anne Galloway

Councillor James Gough (via audio conference)

Councillor Yani Johanson Councillor Aaron Keown

Councillor Sam MacDonald (via audio conference)

Councillor Phil Mauger

Councillor Jake McLellan (via audio conference)

Councillor Tim Scandrett Councillor Sara Templeton

24 March 2020

Principal Advisor

Dawn Baxendale Chief Executive Tel: 941 6996

Jo Daly Council Secretary 941 8581 jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz www.ccc.govt.nz



Karakia Timatanga:

Delivered by Councillor Daniels

1. Apologies / Ngā Whakapāha

Council Resolved CNCL/2020/00025

That the apology for lateness from Councillor McLellan be accepted.

Councillor Davidson/Councillor Cotter

Carried

2. Declarations of Interest / Ngā Whakapuaki Aronga

There were no declarations of interest.

Councillor McLellan joined the meeting at 5.07pm via audio conference.

3. COVID-19 Emergency Period

Council Resolved CNCL/2020/00026

That the Council:

- Notes that the COVID-19 emergency period requires Councils to make appropriate
 arrangements to ensure decision-making can occur in an open and transparent manner,
 while meeting the obligations that have been put in place to limit the spread of COVID19.
- 2. Notes that the central government and local government agencies are working on making the adjustments to the statutory obligations to enable decision-making to occur.
- 3. Agrees to make interim arrangements to enable a seamless transition from the present decision-making arrangements to the Council taking on the role of decision-maker for the COVID-19 Emergency Period.
- 4. Revokes all delegations previously granted to the Council's committees and subcommittees, except the Audit and Risk Management Committee, as follows:

Committees of the Whole and Subcommittees:

- a. Finance and Performance Committee
 - i. Insurance Subcommittee
- b. Sustainability and Community Resilience Committee
 - i. Funding Subcommittee
- c. Three Waters Infrastructure and Environment Committee
- d. Urban Development and Transport Committee
- e. Chief Executives Performance and Employment Committee
- f. Civic Awards Committee



Committees and Subcommittees

- g. Christchurch Momentum Committee
 - i. Central City Momentum Working Group
- h. Regulatory Performance Committee
- i. Multicultural Committee
- j. Youth Advisory Committee
- k. Health, Safety and Wellbeing Committee
- I. Rockfall Protection Structures Committee
- 5. Revokes all delegations previously granted to Community Boards, noting there will need to be a transition period before the delegations are restored once the emergency period is over, and staff will provide on advice on that in due course
- 6. Establishes an Emergency Committee for the duration of the COVID-19 emergency period to be chaired by the Mayor and with the Deputy Mayor as deputy chair and all Councillors as members.
- 7. Delegates all its decision-making authority to the Emergency Committee except those matters the Council is unable to delegate under the Local Government Act, to be exercised only if the Council is unable to meet due to a lack of a quorum.
- 8. Resolves that the Emergency Committee be chaired by the Mayor and with the Deputy Mayor as deputy chair and all Councillors as members, requires a quorum of two, and that for a meeting to proceed the Mayor or Deputy Mayor, or their delegates, must be available to Chair the meeting.
- 9. If the Emergency Committee is unable to meet due to a lack of quorum, delegates all the Council's decision-making authority to the Chief Executive, except those matters it is unable to delegate under the Local Government Act. Noting that the notice period in Standing Orders for such a meeting is 24 hours.
- 10. Requires the Chief Executive to consult the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, or their delegates, prior to exercising her decision-making authority, and the Mayor to consult Councillors by way of a conference call before the Chief Executive finalises her decision, unless she believes there are exceptional circumstances that mean such consultation cannot occur.
- 11. Requires the Chief Executive to make details of the decision-making publically available in a timely manner and in a way that is open and transparent.
- 12. Amends the Terms of Reference for the Audit and Risk Management Committee by delegating decision-making within the Terms of Reference to the Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson, the Deputy Mayor and Michael Rondel (one of the external members on the Committee).
- 13. Extends Michael Rondel's membership of the Audit and Risk Management Committee from the date his current term expires while the interim arrangements are in place.
- 14. If livestream is not feasible due to availability of technical staff, agrees to suspend the policy of live-streaming the Council meetings and Committees of the Whole, with a commitment to making a recording of Council meetings available as soon as possible after the meeting is held.
- 15. Suspend all meetings of the Te Hononga Council Papatipu Rūnanga Committee until a meetings is called by the Co-Chairs.



- 16. Agrees all resolutions take effect from 11.59pm 24 March 2020.
- 17. Agrees that the emergency delegations for decision-making will be reviewed when the alert status for Christchurch reverts back to level 2.
- 18. Requests staff to give notice of cancellation of all scheduled meetings of the Council, Committees (including Hearings Panels), Subcommittees and Community Boards.
- 19. Request information on ongoing governance arrangements from the Chief Executive at the end of four weeks, or sooner, if there are relevant legislative or procedural changes prior.
- 20. Notes that the Chief Executive and officer delegations that are currently in place are unaffected by these resolutions, and will remain with the Chief Executive and officers as appropriate.

Mayor/Deputy Mayor

Carried unanimously

Karakia Whakamutunga:

Delivered by Councillor Daniels

Meeting concluded at 6.46pm.

CONFIRMED THIS 23rd DAY OF APRIL 2020

MAYOR LIANNE DALZIEL CHAIRPERSON