Christchurch City Council




Date:                                    Thursday 24 October 2019

Time:                                   4pm

Venue:                                 Avon Room, Christchurch Town Hall, 86 Kilmore Street, Christchurch






Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor Catherine Chu

Councillor Melanie Coker

Councillor Pauline Cotter

Councillor James Daniels

Councillor Mike Davidson

Councillor Anne Galloway

Councillor James Gough

Councillor Yani Johanson

Councillor Aaron Keown

Councillor Sam MacDonald

Councillor Phil Mauger

Councillor Jake McLellan

Councillor Tim Scandrett

Councillor Sara Templeton

Councillor Andrew Turner



24 October 2019




Principal Advisor

Dawn Baxendale

Chief Executive

Tel: 941 6996


Jo Daly

Council Secretary

941 8581

Watch Council meetings live on the web:



24 October 2019



Mihi Whakatau

The meeting commenced with a Mihi Whakatu from Corban Te Aika, representing Ngāi Tūāhuriri.  


Kaharoa Manihera responded on behalf of the Mayor Elect, Councillors and Chief Executive.

1.   Welcome and Introduction

The Chief Executive assumed the Chair and declared the inaugural meeting open.


2.   Declaration by the Mayor / Te Kī Taurangi a te Koromatua
Duly Attested

The Mayor made the statutory declaration required of her under the provisions of the Local Government Act 2002.


The Mayor’s declaration was signed in the presence of the Council and witnessed by the Chief Executive.


3.   Installation of the Mayor / Te Whakamana o te Koromatua

The Mayor assumed the Chair and addressed the meeting.


4.   Declarations by Councillors / Te Kī Taurangi a te Kāhui Amorangi
Duly Attested

The Mayor called each Councillor in turn who declared that they will faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of their skill and judgement, execute and perform in the best interests of the City of Christchurch, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon them as a member of the Christchurch City Council by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.


The Councillors’ declarations were signed in the presence of the Council and witnessed by the Mayor and Chief Executive.


Each Councillor addressed the meeting.



5.   Report of the Electoral Officer - Triennial Elections - 12 October 2019


Council Resolved CNCL/2019/00118

That the Council:

1.         Receive the information in the report.

Mayor/Councillor Coker                                                                                                                                         Carried




6.   Explanation of Statutory Requirements


Council Resolved CNCL/2019/00119

That the Council:

1.         Receives the information in this report.

Mayor/Councillor Cotter                                                                                                                                        Carried


7.   Appointment/Election of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor exercised her power under S41A(3)(a) of the Local Government Act 2002 and appointed Councillor Andrew Turner as the Deputy Mayor.


8.   Appointment of Councillors to Community Boards


Council Resolved CNCL/2019/00120

That the Council appoint the following Councillors to the Community Boards situated in the Council’s district:

1.         Andrew Turner (Banks Peninsula)

2.         James Daniels (Coastal-Burwood)

3.         Phil Mauger (Coastal-Burwood)

4.         James Gough (Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood)

5.         Sam MacDonald (Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood)

6.         Aaron Keown (Fendalton-Waimairi-Harewood)

7.         Anne Galloway (Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton)

8.         Jimmy Chen (Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton)

9.         Catherine Chu (Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton)

10.       Yani Johanson (Linwood-Central-Heathcote)

11.       Jake McLellan-Dowling (Linwood-Central-Heathcote)

12.       Sara Templeton (Linwood-Central-Heathcote)

13.       Mike Davidson (Papanui-Innes)

14.       Pauline Cotter (Papanui-Innes)

15.       Melanie Coker (Spreydon-Cashmere)

16.       Tim Scandrett (Spreydon-Cashmere)

Mayor/Councillor Templeton                                                                                                                               Carried



9.   Date of First Ordinary Meeting of the Council


Council Resolved CNCL/2019/00121

That the Council:

1.         Pursuant to clause 21(5)(d) of schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002 resolve that the first ordinary meeting of the Council be held on Thursday 31 October 2019 at 9.30am.

Mayor/Councillor Chen                                                                                                                                           Carried




Meeting concluded at 6pm.




Mayor Lianne Dalziel