

Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee OPEN MINUTES

Date:	Monday 22 July 2019
Time:	9.06am
Venue:	Council Chambers, Civic Offices,
	53 Hereford Street, Christchurch

Present	Ċ
---------	---

Chairperson Deputy Chairperson Members Councillor Pauline Cotter Councillor Mike Davidson Councillor Vicki Buck Councillor Phil Clearwater Councillor Anne Galloway Councillor Aaron Keown Councillor Tim Scandrett Councillor Sara Templeton

17 July 2019

Principal Advisor David Adamson General Manager City Services Tel: 941 8235

Aidan Kimberley Committee and Hearings Advisor 941 6566 aidan.kimberley@ccc.govt.nz <u>www.ccc.govt.nz</u>



Part A Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B Reports for Information

Part C Decisions Under Delegation

The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1. Apologies

There were no apologies.

2. Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.

3. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Part C Committee Resolved ITEC/2019/00021

That the open and public excluded minutes of the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee meeting held on Wednesday, 10 July 2019 be confirmed.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Clearwater

Carried

4. Public Forum

Part B

There were no public forum presentations heard at this meeting.

5. Presentation of Community Board Feedback

Part B

Mr Mike Mora, Chairperson of the Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton Community Board, indicated he would present the Community Board's feedback after the public submissions.



6. Hearing of Verbal Submissions

Verbal submissions on the South Express Major Cycle Route were heard in the following order:

- 1. Tiger Lu
- 2. Henk Buunk
- 3. Warren and Wendy Hill
- 4. Jenny Whiteside
- 5. Howard Dawson
- 6. Diane White
- 7. Wendy Marshall
- 8. Ross Houliston
- 9. Ross Houliston and Mark Peters on behalf of the Greater Hornby Residents' Association
- 10. Gwyneth Carlaw

The meeting adjourned at 10.25am and reconvened at 11.00am.

- 11. Filip Chernishoff
- 12. Kay Flanagan
- 13. Phil Stedman, Alan Aitken and Mark Wells on behalf of the Riccarton Community Church
- 14. Rose Grieve on behalf of Warren Grieve
- 15. Kurt Hewson
- 16. Kurt Hewson on behalf of Ron Greaves
- 17. Robert Fleming on behalf of Spokes Canterbury
- 18. Heather Casperson on behalf of St Peter's Anglican Church
- 19. Peter Simonds
- 20. Jolene Eager on behalf of the Templeton Residents' Association
- 21. Peter Kelly

Following the public submissions, Mr Mike Mora, Chairperson of the Halswell-Hornby-Riccarton Community Board, joined the table to present the Community Board's feedback.

The meeting adjourned at 12.26pm and reconvened at 1.34pm.

7. South Express Major Cycle Route

Committee Comment

The Committee discussed the Middlepark Road section of the route, where two options were presented in the agenda. One option was for the route to continue on Middlepark Road to the Epsom Road intersection, and the other for the route to go along Taggart Place and through the Reserve. The Committee decided to approve the Taggart Place option. The Committee also requested staff to work with the Community Board regarding a planting project in the reserve, which was raised by a submitter.

The Committee also noted the submission received regarding the proposed P120 parking restrictions on Lyndon Street and decided not to approve these.



Committee Resolved ITEC/2019/00022

Part C

That the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee:

- 1. Approves the South Express MCR scheme for detailed design and construction as shown in Attachment A, South Express MCR Drawings 1-56 inclusive, subject to resolutions 5. and 6. set out below.
- 2. Approves removal of the identified trees to allow implementation of the proposed scheme, as detailed in Attachment A.
- 3. Approves the purchase of land parcels required to complete the cycleway, as detailed in attachment A.
- 4. Recommends that the detailed traffic resolutions required for the implementation of the route are brought back to the ITE committee for approval at the end of the detailed design phase prior to the beginning of construction.
- 5. Resolves that the route uses the alternative option through Taggart Place as set out in Plan SK130b and requests staff to work with the Community Board around future plans for a planting project in the reserve.
- 6. Does not approve the P120 parking restrictions on Lyndon Street.

Councillor Clearwater/Councillor Templeton Councillor Keown requested that his vote against the above decision be recorded.

<u>Carried</u>

Meeting concluded at 2.35pm.

CONFIRMED THIS 7TH DAY OF AUGUST 2019

COUNCILLOR PAULINE COTTER CHAIRPERSON