Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board and Papanui-Innes Community Board

Open Minutes



Date:                                    Wednesday 8 May 2019

Time:                                   9.24am

Venue:                                 Council Chambers, Level 2, Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch






Ali Jones

Emma Norrish

Jo Byrne

John Stringer

Pauline Cotter

Mike Davidson

Jake McLellan

Darrell Latham

Tim Lindley

Deon Swiggs

Sara Templeton

Yani Johanson



8 May 2019






Elizabeth Hovell

Community Board Advisor

941 8637

To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board and Papanui-Innes Community Board

08 May 2019


Part A           Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B           Reports for Information

Part C           Decisions Under Delegation



The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies

Part C

Joint Committee Resolved JM-LA/2019/00001

That the apologies for absence from Sally Buck and Alexandra Davids be accepted.


Member Davidson/Member Byrne                                                                                                                     Carried


2.   Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.


3.   Deputations by Appointment

Part B

There were no deputations by appointment.


4.   Downstream Effects Mitigation Plan - comments received


Joint Committee Resolved JM-LA/2019/00002 (original staff recommendation adopted without change)

That the Linwood-Central-Heathcote Community Board and Papanui-Innes Community Board:

1.              Receive the comments submitted on the Downstream Effects Mitigation Plan. 

Member Templeton/Member Norrish                                                                                                               Carried


The Joint Meeting Heard from the following:


·         Duncan Webb – MP for Christchurch Central

·         Jenny Smith and Rodney Routledge

·         A joint presentation from Axel Wilke and Emma Twaddell – SARA, representing Emma Twaddell, SARA, Axel Wilke, Ngahuia Freed, Mark Wilson, Jason Harvey and Simon Geary.


Member Lindley arrived 9.51am.


·         Shane Dixon and Nathan Burford– Paparoa Primary School Board of Trustees.

·         Peggy Kelly

Member Cotter left the meeting at 10.43am and returned to the meeting at 10.45am.

Member Byrne left the meeting at 10.44am and returned to the meeting at 10.46am.


·         Kirsty Humm


The meeting adjourned at 10.55am and reconvened at 11.07am.  All members were in attendance apart from Member Swiggs.


·         David Wells

·         Peter Jasper


Member Swiggs joined the meeting at 11.10am.


·         Connie Christensen – Go Cycle Christchurch

·         Margaret Stewart. Tabled a letter from Minister of Transport Hon Phil Twyford (Attachment 1)


Member Lindley left the meeting at 11.30am.


·         Francine Bills

·         Jessica Halliday

·         Andrew Willis

·         Connie Christensen

·         Robina Dobbie

·         Dike De Lu – Spokes Canterbury

·         Aynsley McNab

·         Martin Meehan – Kidds Cakes and Bakery

·         Clarrie Pearce

·         David Moorhouse


Member Lindley returned to the meeting at 12.25pm.

Member Templeton left the meeting at 12.30pm.


·         Martin Pinkham


Member Templeton returned to the meeting at 12.33pm. 

Member Swiggs left the meeting at 12.34 pm.


·         Connie Christensen presented on behalf of Vince Eichholtz

·         Peter Davey

·         Paul van Herpt

·         Annie Broughton and Rose Bayldon - Generation Zero Christchurch

·         John Ingles – Ourvets St Albans


  Meeting concluded at 1.09pm.



Ali JOnes




Attachment 1 – Letter Tabled by Margaret StewarT