Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee

Open Minutes



Date:                                     Wednesday 13 February 2019

Time:                                    1.34pm

Venue:                                 Council Chambers, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch





Deputy Chairperson


Councillor Pauline Cotter

Councillor Mike Davidson

Councillor Vicki Buck

Councillor Phil Clearwater

Councillor Anne Galloway

Councillor Aaron Keown

Councillor Tim Scandrett



12 February 2019




Principal Advisor

David Adamson

General Manager City Services

Tel: 941 8235


Aidan Kimberley

Committee and Hearings Advisor

941 6566

To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee

13 February 2019


Part A        Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B         Reports for Information

Part C         Decisions Under Delegation




The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies

Part C

Committee Resolved ITEC/2019/00001

Committee Decision

That the apology from Councillor Templeton be accepted.

Councillor Clearwater/Councillor Galloway                                                                                                      Carried


2.   Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.


3.   Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Part C

Committee Resolved ITEC/2019/00002

Committee Decision

That the minutes of the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee meeting held on Wednesday, 12 December 2018 be confirmed.

Councillor Clearwater/Councillor Davidson                                                                                                      Carried


4.   Public Forum

Part B

There were no public forum presentations.

5.   Deputations by Appointment

Part B


Jake McLellan

Jake McLellan, local resident, addressed the Committee regarding Item 7, E-Scooter Permit Recommendations.





Charlotte Mayne

Charlotte Mayne, local resident, addressed the Committee regarding Item 7, E-Scooter Permit Recommendations.



Helen Broughton

Helen Broughton, local resident, addressed the Committee regarding Item 7, E-Scooter Permit Recommendations.


6.   Presentation of Petitions

Part B

There was no presentation of petitions.

8.   Major Cycleway, Heathcote Expressway, Section 1a detailed traffic resolutions and tree removals


Committee Resolved ITEC/2019/00003

Part C

That the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee:

1.              Resolve to leave the report to lie on the table to ensure there are no changes between the approved design and the final detailed design, to be reported back to the Committee as soon as possible.

2.              Note that construction works will continue on aspects of the project that do not impact the outcome of the detailed traffic resolutions such as landscape areas, ducting, drainage, and surfacing as required to make safe.

3.              Note that staff will communicate this update with the stakeholders.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Galloway                                                                                                                Carried



7.   E-Scooter Permit Recommendations


Committee Decided ITEC/2019/00004

Part A

That the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee recommend that the Council:

1.         Approve the continued issue of trading permits for e-scooters under the Public Places Bylaw 2018 and Trading and Events in Public Places Policy 2018, and

a.         Note the intention to issue a 12 month permit for Lime Technology with a proposed increase in Lime’s permit cap from 700 to 1000 e-scooters

2.         Resolve that:

a.         The rental fee applicable under the Trading and Events in Public Places Policy (2018) is applied for all e-scooter permits.  Noting that this is presently set at $172.50/m2 per year, which would equate to $86.25 per year for each Lime scooter.

b.         The total fee payable under an E-Scooter permit will be determined on a pro rata basis proportionate to the total footprint, measured in square metres, of all vehicles in the fleet.

c.         The fee will come into effect the day after the Council's decision to adopt it.

3.         Approve a citywide limit/cap on the number of e-scooters of 1600 until demand can be determined to justify an alternative cap.

4.         Delegate to the Head of Transport the authority to amend up or down individual permit caps and the citywide cap on the number of e-scooters.

Councillor Clearwater/Councillor Buck                                                                                                               Carried


9.   Three Waters and Waste report - December/January


Committee Resolved ITEC/2019/00005

Part C

That the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee:

1.         Receive the information in the Three Waters and Waste December/January report attached.

Councillor Davidson/Councillor Scandrett                                                                                                         Carried


Committee Recommendation

That the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee:

2.      Request staff to include advice on potential consultation options within the drinking water report to the Council on 28 February 2019, if the May deadline cannot be met.

On being put to the meeting by show of hands the motion was declared lost by 3 votes to 4 votes the voting being as follows:

For:                           Councillor Davidson, Councillor Keown and Councillor Scandrett

Against:                 Councillor Cotter, Councillor Buck, Councillor Clearwater and Councillor Galloway

Councillor Davidson/Councillor Scandrett                                                                                                                Lost



10  Resolution to Exclude the Public


Committee Resolved ITEC/2019/00006

Part C

That at 3:43 pm. the resolution to exclude the public set out on pages 108 to 109 of the agenda be adopted.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Davidson                                                                                                                  Carried


The public were re-admitted to the meeting at 4.15 pm at which time the meeting conclded.






Councillor Pauline Cotter