Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee

Open Minutes



Date:                                     Tuesday 3 October 2017

Time:                                    4:05pm

Venue:                                 Council Chambers, Level 2, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch





Mayor Lianne Dalziel (Chairperson)

Dr Te Maire Tau - Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga (Chairperson)

Councillor Vicki Buck

Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor Pauline Cotter

Councillor David East

Councillor Raf Manji

Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner

Rei Simon - Wairewa Rūnanga

Karaitiana Taiuru - Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata

Elizabeth Brown - Te Taumutu Rūnanga

Rik Tainui - Ōnuku Rūnanga



3 October 2017




Principal Advisor

Gabrielle Huria

Principal Advisor Ngai Tahu Relationships


Aidan Kimberley

Committee and Hearings Advisor

941 6566



To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee

03 October 2017


Part A        Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B         Reports for Information

Part C         Decisions Under Delegation




The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies

Part C




Committee Resolved THCP/2017/00028

That the apologies from Councillor Clearwater, Councillor Elizabeth Cunningham and Gail Gordon be accepted.

Chairperson Dalziel/Chairperson Tau                                                                                                                  Carried


2.   Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.

3.   Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Part C

Committee Resolved THCP/2017/00029

Committee Decision

That the open and public excluded minutes of Te Hononga Council – Papatipu Rūnanga Committee meeting held on Thursday, 29 June 2017 be confirmed.

Chairperson Tau/Chairperson Dalziel                                                                                                                  Carried

4.   Public Forum

Part B

There were no public forum presentations.

5.   Deputations by Appointment

Part B

There were no deputations by appointment.

6.   Presentation of Petitions

Part B

There was no presentation of petitions.    

Karaitiana Taiuru joined the meeting at 4:10 pm.

7.   Update on work programme to address Runanga priorities


Committee Comment

The Committee was informed that Nga Rūnanga might consider negotiating a cost-sharing model with the Council for infrastructure projects such as the Akaroa Wastewater scheme. The Committee requested that Council representatives meet with Nga Rūnanga to discuss this further.


Committee Resolved THCP/2017/00030

Part C

That Te Hononga Council – Papatipu Rūnanga Committee:

1.         Receives the progress report on the work programme.

2.         Requests Council staff to continue to progress the priority areas identified in the work programme.

3.         Requests Council staff to organise a meeting with Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner, the Chairperson of the Infrastructure Transport and Environment Committee, and Nga Rūnanga to discuss options for joint resolution of the Akaroa Wastewater project.

Chairperson Tau/Chairperson Dalziel                                                                                                                  Carried

8.   Other Business

Part B

Liz Brown left the meeting at 5:11 pm.

Helen Leahy, Chief Executive of Te Pūtahitanga o Te Waipounamu, supported by Jo McLean, addressed the committee regarding the evaluation of Whanau Ora.


Committee Resolved THCP/2017/00033

That Te Hononga Council – Papatipu Rūnanga Committee requests staff to report back to the Committee with ways to support Christchurch becoming the wellbeing Capital of New Zealand.

Chairperson Tau/Member Simon                                                                                                                         Carried


Gabrielle Huria addressed the Committee regarding the Housing First collaboration to solve homelessness.

Gabrielle Huria addressed the Committee regarding the Ngai Tahu tribal economy conference in November.

Rangimarie Parata Tukurua addressed the Committee regarding Te Pa o Rakaihautu and their proposal to relocate to a larger site in the Avonside area, such as the site formerly occupied by Avonside Girls High School.



Committee Resolved THCP/2017/00034

That Te Hononga Council – Papatipu Rūnanga Committee receives the presentation on Te Pa o Rakaihautu, endorses the proposal in principle and their ambition for the location, and requests a report to the November Committee meeting after Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu has had the opportunity to consider the proposal.

Chairperson Dalziel/Chairperson Tau                                                                                                                  Carried


    Meeting concluded at 5:58pm.