Audit and Risk Management Committee

Open Minutes



Date:                                     Tuesday 3 October 2017

Time:                                    7:47am

Venue:                                 Committee Room 1, Level 2, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch





Deputy Chair


Ms Sue Sheldon

Councillor Raf Manji

Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner

Councillor Vicki Buck

Councillor Phil Clearwater

Councillor Pauline Cotter

Councillor David East

Mr Mark Russell

Mr Michael Rondel



2 October 2017




Principal Advisor

Carol Bellette

General Manager Finance and Commercial


Margaret Henderson

Committee Advisor

941 8185

To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Audit and Risk Management Committee

03 October 2017


Part A        Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B         Reports for Information

Part C         Decisions Under Delegation




The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies

Part C



Committee Resolved ARCM/2017/00009

It was resolved on the motion of Deputy Mayor Turner, seconded by Councillor Clearwater that the apologies for lateness from Deputy Chair Manji and Councillors Buck, Cotter and East, be accepted.

Deputy Mayor/Councillor Clearwater                                                                                                                 Carried


2.   Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.


3.   Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Part C

Committee Resolved ARCM/2017/00010

That the minutes of the Audit and Risk Management Committee meeting held on Wednesday, 23 August 2017, be confirmed.

Chair Sheldon/Mr Rondel                                                                                                                                        Carried


4.   Public Forum

Part B

There were no public forum presentations.

5.   Deputations by Appointment

Part B

There were no deputations by appointment.

6.   Presentation of Petitions

Part B

There was no presentation of petitions.


7     Resolution to Exclude the Public


Committee Resolved ARCM/2017/00011

Part C

That Andy Burns and Andrew Timlin of Audit New Zealand remain after the public have been excluded for Item 10 of the public excluded agenda, as they have knowledge that is relevant to that item and will assist the Committee.


That at 7.50am the resolution to exclude the public set out on pages 11 to 12 of the agenda, be adopted.

Chair Sheldon/Councillor Clearwater                                                                                                                    Carried


Deputy Chair Manji arrived at the meeting at 07.50am.


Councillor Cotter arrived at the meeting at 07.50am.


The public were re-admitted to the meeting at 9.15am.



Meeting concluded at 9.15am.




Sue Sheldon