Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee

Open Minutes



Date:                                     Friday 21 April 2017

Time:                                    12.33pm

Venue:                                 Committee Room 2, Level 2, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch





Councillor Robbie Brine - Waimakariri District Council

Councillor Neil Brown - Ashburton District Council

Councillor Pauline Cotter - Christchurch City Council

Councillor Mike Davidson - Christchurch City Council

Councillor Dick Davison - Hurunui District Council

Councillor Glenn Livingstone - Christchurch City Council

Councillor Grant Miller - Selwyn District Council



21 April 2017






Petrea Downey

Hearings Support Officer

941 8999

To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee

21 April 2017



The agenda was dealt with in the following order.


Christchurch City Council officer Ian Thomson sat in the chair until item 4 was resolved.


4.   Appointment of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00001

Joint Committee Decision

That the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee:

1.         Appoints Councillor Livingstone as Chairperson of the Committee;

2.         Appoints Councillor Brine as deputy Chairperson.

Councillor Livingstone/Councillor Cotter                                                                                                           Carried


Councillor Livingstone took the Chair at 12.34pm


1.   Apologies


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00002

That the apologies for absence from Councillor Neil Brown and lateness from Councillor Mike Davidson who arrived at 1.08pm, during item 3, be accepted.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Miller                                                                                                                       Carried


2.   Confirmation of Previous Minutes


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00003

Committee Decision

That the minutes of the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee meeting held on Friday, 12 August 2016 be confirmed with minor amendments as discussed.

Councillor Livingstone/Councillor Cotter                                                                                                           Carried


3.   Update from Chairman of Transwaste


         Gill Cox, Chairman of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd along with Steven Watson provided a powerpoint presentation updating the Committee on Kate Valley, Tiromoana Bush and Burwood Resource Recovery Park and providing information on its health and safety performance and Transwaste pricing FY17.


5.   Transwaste Canterbury Ltd - Interim Report to 31 December 2016


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00004

Joint Committee Decision

That the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee:

1.         Receive the information in the report.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Davison                                                                                                                  Carried


The meeting adjourned from 1.57pm to 2.05pm


8.   Resolved to Move into Public Excluded


That the meeting move into public excluded for item 7 at 2.18pm


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00005

That John Buchan of Buddle Findlay and Steven Watson of Price, Waterhouse Coopers, remain after the public have been excluded for Items 6 and 7 of the public excluded items of the agenda as they have knowledge that is relevant to that item and will assist the Council.

That at 2.18pm the Committee resolved to exclude the public from items 6 and 7 of the agenda for the reasons set out below, be adopted.

- 7(2)(a) Protection of privacy of natural persons
- 7(2)(h) Commercial activities

Councillor Miller/Councillor Davison                                                                                                                    Carried



9.   Resolution to Readmit the Public


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00006

That the public be readmitted to the meeting at 2.26pm

Councillor Livingstone/Councillor Cotter                                                                                                           Carried


The public were re-admitted to the meeting at 2.26pm.


6.   Transwaste Canterbury Ltd Directorships


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00007

Joint Committee Decision

The Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee:

1.              Approved the appointment of Councillor Livingstone to the board of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd as set out in the report, for a length of tenure to be determined.  

2.              Deferred the second nominee director to the Board of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd until the contestable process had been completed.  Councillors Davison and Miller have been nominated.

3.              Note that the incumbent Councillor Davison will remain until the contestable process has been completed.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Brine                                                                                                                        Carried


7.   Transwaste Canterbury Ltd - Comment on the Draft Statement of Intent for the Three year Period Ending 30 June 2020


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00008

Joint Committee Decision

The Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee:

1.         Received the information in the Draft Statement of Intent (“SoI”) report;

2.         Include the forecast distribution of Burwood Resource Recovery Park retained earnings, in line with the current resource consent conditions as stated in 3.1;

3.         Include interim and final dividends payable for the 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/20 financial periods; and

4.         Confirmed the information that can be made publicly available.

Councillor Livingstone/Councillor Miller                                                                                                             Carried




10. Timing of Committee Meetings


Discussion on the number of meetings per year and time of day was discussed with the members.


Committee Resolved CRLC/2017/00009

The Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee agreed:

1.         To meet four times per year, with the possibility of cancelling if there are no items to be discussed.

2.              With the preferred meeting time of Friday mornings being noted.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Brine                                                                                                                        Carried




Meeting concluded at 2.33pm.