Christchurch City Council




Date:                                     Thursday 2 March 2017

Time:                                    10.04am

Venue:                                 Council Chambers, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch






Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner

Councillor Vicki Buck

Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor Phil Clearwater

Councillor Pauline Cotter

Councillor Mike Davidson

Councillor Anne Galloway

Councillor Jamie Gough

Councillor Aaron Keown

Councillor Raf Manji

Councillor Tim Scandrett

Councillor Deon Swiggs

Councillor Sara Templeton



2 March 2017




Principal Advisor

Dr Karleen Edwards

Chief Executive

Tel: 941 8554


Jo Daly

Council Secretary

941 8581

Watch Council meetings live on the web:



02 March 2017



The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies


Council Resolved CNCL/2017/00039

It was resolved on the motion of Deputy Mayor Turner, seconded by Councillor Scandrett that the apology from The Mayor, Councillors East, Johanson and Livingstone be accepted.

Deputy Mayor  Turner/Councillor Scandrett                                                                                                    Carried



2.   Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest recorded.


Councillor Galloway joined the meeting at 10.05am.

Councillor Manji joined the meeting at 10.06am.

Councillor Keown joined the meeting at 10.07am.

3.   Public Participation

3.1  Public Forum

3.1.2      New Zealand Opera

The Council received a presentation from Stuart Maunder, Matt Maling and Anna Hoetjes of New Zealand Opera.


3.2  Deputations by Appointment

There were no deputations by appointment.


4.   Presentation of Petitions

There was no presentation of petitions.

5.   Approval of a second extension of time for a Heritage Incentive Grant for 25 Armagh Street


Council Resolved CNCL/2017/00040

That the Council:

1.         Approve a second extension of time of one year for the uptake of the Heritage Incentive Grant previously approved for 25 Armagh Street, Christchurch. The new completion date for the project would be 2 March 2018.

Councillor Gough/Councillor Swiggs                                                                                                                    Carried




6.   2016/17 Metropolitan Discretionary Response Fund


Council Resolved CNCL/2017/00041

That the Council:

1.         Approves a grant of $30,000 to Presbyterian Support (Upper South Island) for the Christchurch HomeShare Programme towards salary of the HomeShare Coordinator and HomeShare Hosts contractor fees.

2.         Approves a grant of $10,000 to Canterbury Insurance Assistance Service towards Canterbury Independent Advocacy Service for wages of Case Facilitators.

3.         Refer the application from the Free Theatre Incorporated for Free Theatre – Wages of the Manager and Administrator to the Social and Community Development Committee for consideration and delegates the decision on this application to the Committee.

Councillor Clearwater/Councillor Scandrett                                                                                                     Carried



7.   Christchurch Agency for Energy Trust


Council Resolved CNCL/2017/00042

That the Council:

1.         Receive the information in the Christchurch Agency for Energy Trust’s Chairperson’s report.

2.         Agree to the Christchurch Agency for Energy Trust amending its 2017 Statement of Intent as set out in the Chairperson’s report:

a.         Changes to Statement of Intent to year ending 30 June 2017:

i.          Section 3: the sentence “CAfE is focussed on supporting the uptake of renewable energy and enhanced energy-efficiency in rebuild projects.” is changed to “CAfE is focussed on supporting the uptake of renewable energy and enhanced energy efficiency projects”.

ii.         Section 3: the following is added, to the list of items that the fund covers, a new bullet point: “Initiatives within Christchurch which result in the use of electricity (a largely renewable form of energy in New Zealand) instead of fossil fuels”.

iii.        Section 3: the following text is deleted: “The building project (or buildings to be serviced) must have a combined floor area greater than 1,000m2 and be located in the Central City.”

3.         Note the changes to Christchurch Energy Grant Scope of Payment and Eligibility Criteria

i.          The following text is deleted “The building project (or buildings to be serviced) will have a combined floor area greater than 1,000m2 and be located in the Central City (the area bounded by Bealey, Fitzgerald, Moorhouse, Deans and Harper Avenues)”

ii.         Council Controlled Organisations is removed from the following text “Projects that are the primary responsibility of the Christchurch City Council, Environment Canterbury, Council Controlled Organisations or a central government agency are not eligible”.

iii.        The following text is deleted “Grant payments will be made up to 30% of the capital cost of installed plant and to a maximum of $300,000 for any one project grant, whichever is the lesser”.

iv.        In relation to what expenditure the grant cannot be used, “Purchase of vehicles” is deleted.

Councillor Buck/Councillor Cotter                                                                                                                         Carried


8     Resolution to Exclude the Public


Council Resolved CNCL/2017/00044

That at 10.26am the resolution to exclude the public set out on pages 19 and 20 of the agenda be adopted.

Deputy Mayor Turner/Councillor Davidson                                                                                                        Carried


The public were re-admitted to the meeting at 10.56am.



Meeting concluded at 10.56am.




Mayor Lianne Dalziel