Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee

Open Minutes



Date:                                     Thursday 1 September 2016

Time:                                    5pm

Venue:                                 Committee Room 1, Level 2, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch





Mayor Lianne Dalziel (Chairperson)

Dr Te Maire Tau - Te Ngāi Tūāhuriri Rūnanga (Chairperson)

Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor Phil Clearwater

Councillor David East

Councillor Raf Manji

Councillor Andrew Turner

Iaean Cranwell Te Rūnanga o Wairewa

Elizabeth Cunningham - Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata

Elizabeth Brown - Te Taumutu Rūnanga

Rik Tainui - Ōnuku Rūnanga



1 September 2016






Aidan Kimberley

Committee and Hearings Advisor

941 6566



To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee

01 September 2016


Part A        Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B         Reports for Information

Part C         Decisions Under Delegation





Elizabeth Brown joined the Committee as Te Taumutu Rūnanga representative in place of the previous representative Megen McKay. Elizabeth Cunningham attended the meeting as Te Rūnanga o Koukourārata representative in place of Charles Crofts.

The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies



Committee Resolved THCP/2016/00011

It was resolved on the motion of Councillor Turner, seconded by Councillor East that the apologies from Charles Crofts and June Swindells be accepted.

Councillor Turner/Councillor East                                                                                                                         Carried


2.   Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.


3.   Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Part C

Committee Resolved THCP/2016/00012

Committee Decision

That the minutes of the Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Runanga Committee meeting held on Thursday, 16 June 2016 be confirmed subject to an amendment to the Nga Mate to replace Roslind with Rosaline, and Rūnang with Rūnanga.

Councillor Chen/Member Cranwell                                                                                                                     Carried


4.   Deputations by Appointment

Part B

There were no deputations by appointment.

5.   Presentation of Petitions

Part B

There was no presentation of petitions.    

6.   Update and proposed work programme to address identified Runanga priorities


Committee Resolved THCP/2016/00013

Part C

That Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee:

1.         Receive the update from the Principal Advisor.

2.         Receive the proposed work programme

3.         Direct Council staff to continue to progress the priority areas identified in the work programme

4.         Request that staff present a progress report at the next meeting of Te Hononga Council – Papatipu Rūnanga Committee

Chairperson Dalziel/Member Cunningham                                                                                                      Carried



7.   Revised draft Relationship Agreement between Christchurch City Council and Ngā Papatipu Rūnunga


Committee Comment

1.              A further revision of the draft Agreement was circulated prior to the meeting as Attachment C. The committee made further amendments to this version including:

·                That the Councillor for Banks Peninsula should always be a member of the committee.

·                Re-instating paragraph 18c, with the word ‘uphold’ being changed to ‘respect’.

·                Re-instating the clause under paragraph 16 regarding facilitating participation of Mana Whenua and Ngā Mātā Waka.

·                Adding maps of the traditional territories of Ngā Rūnanga.



Committee Decided THCP/2016/00014

Part A

That Te Hononga Council - Papatipu Rūnanga Committee:

1.         Recommend that the Relationship Agreement as amended be approved by the Council and by the Papatipu Rūnanga.

Chairperson Tau/Chairperson Dalziel                                                                                                                  Carried


8.   Other Business

Part B

There was no other business considered at this meeting.




Meeting concluded at 6:43pm.




Mayor lianne dalziel and Dr te maire tau