Audit and Risk Management Committee

Open Minutes



Date:                                     Tuesday 27 September 2016

Time:                                    8.00am

Venue:                                 Committee Room 1, Level 2, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch






Ms Sue Sheldon

Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Deputy Mayor Vicki Buck

Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor David East

Mr Mark Russell

Mr Michael Rondel



26 September 2016




Principal Advisor

Diane Brandish

Head of Finance

Tel: 941 8454


Margaret Henderson

Committee Advisor

941 8185

To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Audit and Risk Management Committee

27 September 2016


Part A        Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B         Reports for Information

Part C         Decisions Under Delegation




The agenda was dealt with in the following order.


1.       Apologies


Committee Resolved ARCM/2016/00019

It was resolved on the motion of Chair Sheldon, seconded by Councillor East that the apologies for absence from Councillors Manji and Gough and the apology for lateness from Deputy Mayor Buck, be accepted.


Mayor/Councillor East                                                                                                                                               Carried


The Committee noted that the Council’s Chief Executive and General Manager Finance and Commercial (via telephone) were in attendance.


2.   Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.


3.   Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Part C

Committee Resolved ARCM/2016/00020

Committee Decision

That the minutes of the Audit and Risk Management Committee meeting held on Tuesday, 13 September 2016 be confirmed.

Mr Russell/Councillor East                                                                                                                                       Carried


4.   Deputations by Appointment

Part B

There were no deputations by appointment.


5.   Presentation of Petitions

Part B

There was no presentation of petitions.


6     Resolution to Exclude the Public


Committee Resolved ARCM/2016/00021

Part C

That at 8.06 am the resolution to exclude the public set out on pages 10 to 11 of the agenda be adopted.

That Julian Tan and Andrew Timlin of Audit New Zealand and David Seath of Deloitte  remain after the public have been excluded for Items 8 and 9 of the public excluded agenda as they have knowledge that is relevant to that item and will assist the Committee.


Chair Sheldon/Mayor                                                                                                                                                  Carried


The public were re-admitted to the meeting at 9.34 am.

The Mayor thanked the Chair Sue Sheldon and independent members Mike Rondel and Mark Russell for their work and support on the Committee.


Meeting concluded at 9.36 am.



Confirmed by the Chairperson of the Committee and the Principal Advisor pursuant to Standing Order 3.18.2





Sue Sheldon





Diane Brandish

Principal Advisor