Audit and Risk Management Committee

Open Minutes



Date:                                     Tuesday 13 September 2016

Time:                                    1.00pm

Venue:                                 Committee Room 1, Level 2, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch





Deputy Chair


Ms Sue Sheldon

Councillor Raf Manji

Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Councillor Jamie Gough

Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor David East

Mr Mark Russell



7 September 2016




Principal Advisor

Peter  Gudsell

General Manager Finance and Commercial

Tel: 941 8528


Margaret Henderson

Committee Advisor

941 8185

To view copies of Agendas and Minutes, visit:


Audit and Risk Management Committee

13 September 2016


Part A        Matters Requiring a Council Decision

Part B         Reports for Information

Part C         Decisions Under Delegation




The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies

Part C

Committee Resolved ARCM/2016/00017

That apologies for absence from Deputy Mayor Buck and Mr Michael Rondel, be accepted.


That an apology for lateness from Councillor East, be accepted.


That an apology for early departure from Mayor Dalziel, be accepted.


Councillor Chen/Mr Russell                                                                                                                                     Carried


2.   Declarations of Interest

Part B

There were no declarations of interest recorded.


3.   Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Part C

Committee Resolved ARCM/2016/00018

Committee Decision

That the minutes of the Audit and Risk Management Committee meeting held on Tuesday, 23 August 2016 be confirmed.

Deputy Chair Manji/Mr Russell                                                                                                                             Carried


4.   Deputations by Appointment

Part B

There were no deputations by appointment.

5.   Presentation of Petitions

Part B

There was no presentation of petitions.


6     Resolution to Exclude the Public


Committee Resolved ARCM/2016/00019

Part C

1.         That at 1.09pm the resolution to exclude the public set out on pages 10 to 11 of the agenda be adopted, and;

2.          That Julian Tan, Andrew Timlin and Richard Ng of Audit New Zealand and Steve Wakefield and David Seath of Deloitte, remain after the public have been excluded for Item 8 of the public excluded agenda as  they have knowledge that will assist the Committee.


Chair Sheldon/Councillor Gough                                                                                                                             Carried


The public were re-admitted to the meeting at 3.55pm


Meeting concluded at 3.55pm.




Sue Sheldon