

Christchurch City Council OPEN MINUTES

Date: Tuesday 1 May 2018

Time: 9.31am

Venue: Council Chambers, Civic Offices,

53 Hereford Street, Christchurch

Present

Chairperson Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Deputy Chairperson Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner

Members Councillor Vicki Buck

Councillor Jimmy Chen
Councillor Phil Clearwater
Councillor Pauline Cotter
Councillor Mike Davidson
Councillor David East
Councillor Anne Galloway
Councillor Jamie Gough
Councillor Yani Johanson
Councillor Aaron Keown
Councillor Glenn Livingstone

Councillor Raf Manji Councillor Tim Scandrett Councillor Deon Swiggs Councillor Sara Templeton

1 May 2018

Principal Advisor

Dr Karleen Edwards Chief Executive Tel: 941 8554

Elizabeth Hovell Hearings Adviser 941 8637 Elizabeth.Hovell@ccc.govt.nz www.ccc.govt.nz



1. Apologies

Council Resolved CLTP/2018/00007

That the apology from Councillor Johanson for lateness be accepted.

Councillor Scandrett/Councillor Swiggs

Carried

2. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest recorded.

3. Hearing of Verbal Submissions for the Draft Long Term Plan 2018-2028 - Tuesday 1 May 2018

Council Resolved CLTP/2018/00008

That the Council:

1. Receive the Long Term Plan 2018-28 submissions for those wishing to be heard on 1 May 2018.

Mayor/Councillor Chen

Carried

Councillor Johanson joined the meeting at 9.33am.

The following submitters presented to the Council:

- 3.1 Sam Broughton, Mayor of Selwyn District Council presenting Submission number 1205.
- 3.2 Edward Challies, Senior Lecturer Water Policy and Management Waterways Centre for Freshwater Management, University of Canterbury/Lincoln University presenting Submission number 380.

Councillor Gough left the meeting at 9.56am and returned at 9.58am, during submission number 380.

- 3.3 Leeann Watson, Chief Executive of Canterbury Employers' Chamber of Commerce and Phil De Joux, General Manager presenting Submission number 1171.
- 3.4 Paul Lonsdale, Manager of the Central City Business Association, Brendan Chase, Chairperson, Maureen Taane, Committee Member and Louise Sutherland, Committee Member presenting Submission number 647.
- 3.5 George Parker, Actor/Producer/Manager of Free Theatre Christchurch presenting Submission number 962.
- 3.6 Paul Deavoll, Head of South Island of Spark NZ Ltd presenting Submission number 1117.

Councillor Cotter left the meeting at 10.38am and returned at 10.40am, during submission number 1117.

3.7 Katie Symons presenting Submission number 453.



- 3.8 Derek Keenan, Secretary of the Christchurch Estuary Association Incorporated presenting Submission number 1068.
- 3.9 Josh Proctor, President of the University of Canterbury Students' Association (UCSA), Harry Beaumont, Executive, Liam Donnelly, Executive and Emma McCone, Executive presenting Submission number 987.
- 3.10 Sam Newton, Advocacy Manager of the New Zealand Recreation Association presenting Submission number 276.

The meeting adjourned at 11.24am and reconvened at 11.40am. Councillor's Buck, Cotter, Galloway, Gough and Livingstone were not present at this time.

3.11 Garry Moore presenting Submission number 1079.

Councillors Buck, Cotter, Gough and Livingstone returned to the meeting at 11.43am, during submission number 1079.

Councillor Galloway returned to the meeting 11.45am, during submission number 1079

- 3.12 Garry Moore, the Tuesday Club presenting Submission number 1081.
- 3.13 David Close presenting Submission number 422.
- 3.14 Michael Patterson, Chairman of the TIA Christchurch Hotel Sector presenting Submission number 518.

Councillor East left the meeting at 12.20pm and returned at 12.22pm, submission number 518.

3.15 Peter Morrison and Bob Pringle of the Hospitality NZ Canterbury Branch presenting Submission number 1295.

The meeting adjourned at 12.39pm and reconvened at 1.40pm. Councillor's East and Johanson were not present at this time.

3.16 Nick Clark, Manager General Policy of the North Canterbury Federated Farmers (NCFF), Hamish Craw and Edward Aitken presenting Submission number 1340.

Councillor Johanson returned to the meeting at 1.43pm and Councillor East returned to the meeting at 1.49pm, during submission number 1340.

- 3.17 Sharon Torstonson, Kaituiora of the Social Equity and Wellbeing Network (SEWN) presenting Submission number 1038.
- 3.18 Amy Hartnell, Projects Facilitator of the Earthquake Disability Leadership Group and Ruth Jones, Chairperson presenting Submission number 425.
- 3.19 Mike Button, Chairperson of the Christchurch Botanic Gardens Trust presenting Submission number 668.
- 3.20 Jim Harland, Director of Regional Relationships, New Zealand Transport Agency (NZTA) and Andrew Washington, Investment Advisor Partnerships Investments presenting Submission number 1188.



The meeting adjourned at 2.56pm and reconvened at 3.17pm.

- 3.21 Dave West, 1948 presenting Submission number 1255.
- 3.22 Peter Beck, Convenor of the Eastern Vision and Evan Smith presenting Submission number 1288.
- 3.23 Dr Kit Doudney, Vice Chair of the Avon Heathcote Estuary Ihutai Trust and Bill Simpson presenting Submission number 1309.
- 3.24 Evan Smith, Spokesperson of the Avon-Otakaro Network, Peter Beck and Teoti Jardine presenting Submission number 1238.
- 3.25 Denise Ford, Chairperson of the Avon-Otakaro Forest Park presenting Submission number 1392.
- 3.26 Rex Gibson, Executive Member of the NZ Federation of Freshwater Anglers Incorporated presenting Submission number 196.

Councillor East left the meeting at 4.18pm and returned at 4.22pm, during submission number 196.

3.27 Piper Pengelly and Kendra Burgess-Naude of the Christchurch Youth Council presenting Submission number 1217.

Councillor Cotter left the meeting at 4.37pm and returned at 4.41pm, during submission number 1217

3.28 Bruce Garrett, Managing Director of Brook Serene & Co Ltd presenting Submission number 1200.

Councillor Swiggs left for the remainder of the meeting at 4.38pm, during submission number 1200.

Councillor Gough left the meeting at 4.38pm and returned at 4.42pm, during submission number 1200.

The meeting adjourned at 4.49pm and will reconvene at 1pm on Monday 7 May 2018.

CONFIRMED THIS 12th DAY OF JULY 2018.

MAYOR LIANNE DALZIEL CHAIRPERSON