Christchurch City Council




Date:                                     Thursday 22 February 2018

Time:                                    2.31pm

Venue:                                 Council Chambers, Civic Offices,
53 Hereford Street, Christchurch





Deputy Chairperson


Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Deputy Mayor Andrew Turner

Councillor Vicki Buck

Councillor Jimmy Chen

Councillor Phil Clearwater

Councillor Pauline Cotter

Councillor Mike Davidson

Councillor David East

Councillor Anne Galloway

Councillor Jamie Gough

Councillor Yani Johanson

Councillor Aaron Keown

Councillor Glenn Livingstone

Councillor Raf Manji

Councillor Tim Scandrett

Councillor Deon Swiggs

Councillor Sara Templeton



22 February 2018




Principal Advisor

Dr Karleen Edwards

Chief Executive

Tel: 941 8554


Jo Daly

Council Secretary

941 8581

Watch Council meetings live on the web:



22 February 2018



The Meeting observed a minute of silence to acknowledge the 22 February 2011 Canterbury Earthquake.


The agenda was dealt with in the following order.

1.   Apologies

There were no apologies.

2.   Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest recorded.

3.   Public Participation

3.1  Public Forum

There were no public forum presentations.

3.2  Deputations by Appointment

There were no deputations by appointment.

4.   Presentation of Petitions

There was no presentation of petitions.

18. Resolution to Include Supplementary Reports


Council Resolved CNCL/2018/00021

That the reports be received and considered at the Council meeting on Thursday, 22 February 2018.

19.       Well Head Security Improvements - Estimated Costs and Procurement Approach

Mayor/Deputy Mayor                                                                                                                                               Carried


5.   Council Minutes - 25 January 2018


Council Resolved CNCL/2018/00022

That the Council confirm the Minutes from the Council meeting held 25 January 2018.




That the Council confirm the Minutes from the Council meeting held 1 February 2018.




That the Council confirm the Minutes from the Council meeting held 8 February 2018.




That the Council receives the Minutes from the Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee meeting held 12 February 2018.

Mayor/Deputy Mayor                                                                                                                                               Carried


6.   Council Minutes - 1 February 2018


Council Decision

Refer to item 5.


7.   Council Minutes - 8 February 2018


Council Decision

Refer to item 5.


10. Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee Minutes - 12 February 2018


Council Decision

Refer to item 5.


Report from Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee - 12 February 2018

9.   Amendments to Delegations for new Bylaws


Council Resolved CNCL/2018/00023

That the Council:

1.         Notes the current work programme on Community Board delegations which is expected to be reported back before 30 June 2018 and that, if necessary, the delegations relating to the bylaws in this report can be revisited as part of this work.

2.         Relying on clause 32 of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002 and for the purposes of the efficiency and effectiveness in the conduct of the Council’s business, and relying on any other applicable statutory authority,

a.         Revoke the “Roads” delegations to community boards set out in part 2.0 of Subpart 1 of Part D of the Delegations Register (pages 175 to 179), and

b.         Revoke the delegations to the Parking Restrictions Subcommittee set out in Subpart 3 of Part D of the Delegations Register (pages 194 and 195), and

c.         Revoke the delegations to the Chief Executive in respect of the Christchurch City Council Marine and River Facilities Bylaw 2008, the Christchurch City Council Stock Control Bylaw 2008 and the Christchurch City Council Traffic and Parking Bylaw 2008 set out in Subpart 5 of Part A of the Delegations Register (set out on pages 43 and 44), and

d.         Delegate to community boards, the Parking Restrictions Subcommittee, and the Chief Executive the responsibilities, duties, and powers as set out in Attachment B.

3.         Approve that these changes to delegations come into force on 1 March 2018.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Davidson                                                                                                                Carried

Councillor Templeton requested her vote against the resolutions be recorded.


Report from Infrastructure, Transport and Environment Committee - 12 February 2018

8.   An Accessible City Current State (2)


Council Resolved CNCL/2018/00024

That the Council:

1.         Approves the continuation of the An Accessible City programme of work with the modifications identified in paragraph 6.1 of this report (noting delivery on project 18324 AAC Victoria Street is on hold, subject to further engagement and a report back to Infrastructure Transport and Environment Committee).

2.         Notes that before the Long Term Plan is approved staff will engage on the following:

a.         The proposed works on Kilmore Street between Colombo and Durham for the purposes of completing this section in line with the programme for the completion of the Town Hall restoration.

b.         The 30km speed limit on St Asaph Street.

c.         The proposed changes to High Street, including the tram track extension with the objective of aligning the streetscape, construction methodology and physical works with the needs of the key stakeholders.

3.         Notes that a separate report will be presented to the Council on Victoria Street as soon as practicable.

4.         Requests that staff investigate options for connecting the Rapanui/Shag Rock cycleway to the 30kph central city zone.

Councillor Cotter/Councillor Davidson                                                                                                                Carried

Councillors Johanson and Swiggs requested their votes against resolution 1 be recorded.



11. Resolution to Exclude the Public


Council Resolved CNCL/2018/00025

That Linda Falwasser and Jemma Clarke from ChristchurchNZ remain after the public have been excluded for Item 13: New Zealand Track and Field Championships of the public excluded agenda as they have knowledge that is relevant to that item and will assist the Council.


That at 3.27pm the resolution to exclude the public set out on pages 83 to 84 of the agenda and pages 5 to 6 of the supplementary agenda be adopted.

Mayor/Councillor Scandrett                                                                                                                                      Carried



Councillors Davidson, Johanson, Keown, Livingstone, Swiggs and Templeton requested their votes be recorded against consideration of item 19. Well Head Security Improvements – Estimated Costs and Procurement Approach in public excluded.


The meeting adjourned at 3.27pm and reconvened at 3.42pm in public excluded session.


The public were re-admitted to the meeting at 5.30pm.



Meeting concluded at 5.30pm.




Mayor Lianne Dalziel